Mar 02 2011

What are the seven social sciences?

Category: Society & Culture


Social sciences are considered the study of society and the people within it. Social scientists observe and scrutinize the function of people in society, their relationships, and interactions. Social science is a general term used to describe a number of fields outside the realm of natural science. This distinction was first observed around the 18th century. There are approximately seven fields usually viewed as social sciences and these branches will typically overlap.

The seven social sciences are usually considered:

  • Anthropology
  • Economics
  • Geography
  • History
  • Political Science
  • Sociology
  • Psychology

Some scholars often substitute religion for psychology, while some include archaeology, law, and linguistics in the top seven while omitting some of the others.

Tags: , , ,



2 Responses to “What are the seven social sciences?”

  1. ariel says:

    what is the important of social science

  2. Willahemina says:

    The Importance of social science is understanding the nature and attitude of the human mind, understanding why humans would hurt another human being, why victims become abusers.

Challenge this Answer and/or Discuss